do not be overpowered.

January 27, 2012

The Prophet صلى الله عليه وسلم went into the mosque one day and found Abu Umaamah,رضي الله عنه, and said: “O Abu Umaamah! Why do I see you sitting in the mosque when it is not prayer time?” Abu Umaamah,رضي الله عنه, replied: “I have been overtaken by anxiety and grief and overburdened by debts that I owe.” So the Prophet صلى الله عليه وسلم said: “Shall I teach words which will take away your grief and by which Allaah will help you repay your debts, if you were to say them?” Abu Umaamah, رضي الله عنه replied: “Yes! O Messenger of Allaah.” Thereupon, the Prophet صلى الله عليه وسلم said: “Every morning and every evening say, O Allah! I seek refuge in you from anxiety and grief, from weakness and laziness, from miserliness and cowardliness, and from the burden of debts and from being over-powered by men.” After this, Abu Umaamah, رضي الله عنه, said: “I did this and Allaah relieved my sorrow and anxiety and helped me repay my debts.”

اللَّهُمَّ إِنِّي أَعُوذُ بِكَ مِنَ الْهَمِّ وَ الْحَزَنِ وَ أَعُوذُ بِكَ مِنَ العَجْزِ وَ الْكَسَلِ
وَ أَعُوذُ بِكَ مِنَ الْجُبْنِ وَ الْبُخْلِ وَ أَعُوذُ بِكَ مِنْ غَلَبَةِ الدَّيْنِ و قَهْرِ الرجال

 

‘O Allaah! I ask You for guidance, piety, safety and well-being, and contentment and sufficiency.’ →

pearlsofislam:

‘Abdullaah ibn Mas’ood (radiallaahu ‘anhu) relates that the Prophet (sallAllaahu ‘alayhi wa sallaam) would supplicate:

“Allaahummaa innee as’alukal-hudaa wat-tuqaa wal-`afaafa wal-ghinaa”

[O Allaah! I ask You for guidance, piety, safety and well-being, and contentment and sufficiency].

`heartofamuslim.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

