Tastes of Rume

April 30, 2007

Last night
I lost my grip on reality
and welcomed insanity.

Love saw me and said,
I showed up.
Wipe your tears
and be silent.

I said, O Love
I am frightened,
but it’s not you.
Love said to me,
there is nothing that is not me.
be silent.

I will whisper secrets in your ear
just nod yes
and be silent.

A soul moon
appeared in the path of my heart.
How precious is this journey.

I said, O Love
what kind of moon is this?

Love said to me,
this is not for you to question.
be silent.

I said, O Love
what kind of face is this,
angelic, or human?

Love said to me,
this is beyond anything that you know.
Be silent.

I said, please reveal this to me
I am dying in anticipation.

Love said to me,
that is where I want you:
Always on the edge,
be silent.
You dwell in this hall of
images and illusions,
leave this house now
and be silent.

I said, O Love,
tell me this:
Does the Lord know you are
treating me this way?

Love said to me,
yes He does,
You, just be silent.

 

 

The Ocean of Love & Fear

Love rests on no foundation.
It is an endless ocean,
with no beginning or end.
Imagine,
a suspended ocean,
riding on a cushion of ancient secrets.
All souls have drowned in it,
and now dwell there.
One drop of that ocean is hope,
and the rest is fear.

 

The Joining of the Love & Beloved

By day I praised you
and never knew it.
By night I stayed with you
and never knew it.
I always thought that
I was me–but no,
I was you
and never knew it.

 

 

Your Love:

Your Love lifts my soul from the body to the sky

And you lift me up out of the two worlds

I want your sun to reach my raindrops

So your heart can raise my soul upward like a cloud.

Leave a Reply

